

## MONTHLY MEETING

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

# Healthy? Wealthy? Wise? An Overview of Newport Beach's Finances

There has been much discussion lately about the state of Newport Beach's fiscal health. City Council member and two-term citizen member of the Finance Committee, Will O'Neill, will present an overview of the state of the City's finances.

#### Topics will include:

- An overview of the General Fund, Restricted Funds and Enterprise Funds
- Revenue highlights, including property taxes, sales tax and transient occupancy taxes
- Expenses and long-term liabilities including Civic Center debt and pension liability
- Highlights of next year's proposed budget and capital improvement program as prepared by City Manager Dave Kiff

Questions and answers will follow the presentation.

Councilman O'Neill graduated from Stanford University and U.C. Hastings College of the Law. He is the current President of the UC Hastings alumni association and sits on the Board of the Association of Business Trial Lawyers. He and his wife, Jenny, have two young children.

5:15 – 6 pm – Reception hosted by The Bungalow Restaurant 6 – 7 pm – Program and Q&A

## **Civic Center Community Room**

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660

Please bring your neighbors and friends—guests are always welcome!

No charge to attend. Reservations are not necessary.

### For information or to join, call 949.224.2266 or visit www.speakupnewport.com

Speak Up Newport (SUN) is a non-profit, non-partisan citizens group organized to promote the common good and general welfare of the Newport Beach community.

Founded in 1979, it meets monthly, presenting a public forum to hear topics of interest to the local community. SUN produces the annual Mayor's Dinner each February, featuring the Mayor's annual State of the City address.

#### 2017 Board of Directors

Richard Luehrs, *President* • Debra Allen, *Vice President* • Caroline Logan, *Secretary* • Marie Marston, *Treasurer* Jeff Brouwer, Janis Dinwiddie, Diane Dixon, Paula Godfrey, Robyn Grant, Kathy Harrison, Evelyn Hart, Rush Hill, Tom Johnson, Edward Selich, Joe Stapleton, Kay Walker, Rhonda Watkins

**Honorary Directors:** Jan Debay, Dave Goff, Marilee Jackson, Carol McDermott, Mary Petropoulos, Dayna Pettit, Val Skoro, Don Willet, Darryl R. Wold, Pat Zartler