

MONTHLY MEETING

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Tackling Floating Trash: The City's Proactive Approach to Cleaning up the Harbor

Newport Bay is looking good and getting better! As part of its water quality improvement program, the City of Newport Beach has made a major push to reduce the trash that accumulates in the harbor.

Dr. Robert Stein, Assistant City Engineer with the City of Newport Beach Public Works Department, will provide a briefing on the progress of the City's comprehensive effort to prevent trash and debris from entering the bay, including the construction of the Santa Ana Delhi Channel regional trash collection facility and planning for the San Diego Creek Waterwheel. Dr. Stein will provide details on how Newport Beach is teaming up with the cities of Costa Mesa and Santa Ana on a pilot project to curtail trash at the source to reduce future operation and maintenance costs.

Come and ask questions, and learn more about this topic that affects everyone who uses and enjoys the harbor.

5:15 – 6:00 pm – Reception hosted by The Bungalow Restaurant 6:00 – 7:00 pm – Program and Q&A

Civic Center Community Room

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660

Please bring your neighbors and friends—guests are always welcome!

No charge to attend. Reservations are not necessary.

For information or to join, visit *speakupnewport.com* or call 949.224.2266.

Speak Up Newport (SUN) is a non-profit, non-partisan citizens group organized to promote the common good and general welfare of the Newport Beach community.

Founded in 1979, it meets monthly, presenting a public forum to hear topics of interest to the local community.

SUN produces the annual Mayor's Dinner each February, featuring the Mayor's annual State of the City address.

2018 Board of Directors

Debra Allen, *President* • Edward Selich, *Vice President* • Hugh Logan, *Secretary* • Marie Marston, *Treasurer*Jeff Boyles, Janis Dinwiddie, Diane Dixon, Tom Fischbacher, Robyn Grant, Kathy Harrison, Rush Hill,

Richard Luehrs, Joe Stapleton, Kay Walker, Rhonda Watkins

Honorary Directors: Jan Debay, Paula Godfrey, Dave Goff, Marilee Jackson, Caroline Logan, Carol McDermott, Mary Petropoulos, Dayna Pettit, Val Skoro, Don Willet, Darryl R. Wold, Pat Zartler